Learning

Sometimes, it’s hard to motivate yourself to learn new things. Especially when it’s something that, on the surface, seems silly. That’s something that I’m dealing with right now. 

You know that feeling you get sometimes that you missed something that somehow everyone else knows? It’s that feeling that you’re behind, losing the race. I get that feeling all of the time, but I’m fighting that voice in my head that tells me I can’t do it. 

I fight that voice while I’m sitting in my garage at night struggling to learn different knots and stitches on a child’s level. But knowing those basic things are building blocks. Not only can I take those things and add them to something else I already know to make them better, but it’s also helping me figure out what I like doing in a way that I haven’t really done before. 

What I’m saying is that, yes, an old dog can learn new tricks. And everything is worth trying. Don’t let your insecurities stop you from trying. 

Leave a Reply

